My experience with Les Miserables: facing my Christian atheism

(I’m a little late posting this…but better late than never!)

Oh, Les Mis!  How you make me love Jesus more!

My heart is full right now.  On December 31st, 2012 at 3:15 PM, I had a date with my husband to see a movie I’d highly anticipated – Les Miserables.  I have not read the book or seen the show, but I have seen the Liam Neeson movie and I’ve listened to the original broadway cast recording many…MANY times.

I’m trying to get this written as close to the day that I saw the movie so that I can accurately write all that I was feeling during and after watching this movie.  It moved me to tears on various occasions.

For those of you who don’t know, Les Miserables is about a man named Jean Valjean who is released from prison and then robs a priest.  This priest, having the opportunity to accuse him and press charges, denies that he was robbed and gives him additional priceless items from his home to make a new life for himself and live his life for God.  Valjean then, in turn, shows the same grace to a prostitute who is dying and needs someone to take care of her daughter and then raises her as his own.  Not only is the grace he receives “amazing”, but also generously demonstrates an outpouring of love toward this child.

As far as stories are concerned, this has been attributed as one of the most clear metaphors of God’s grace.  A man, truly undeserving, who has only earned distrust and disrespect and punishment, receives a priceless gift.  It’s a fictional story, but Grace still does amazing things!  Love accomplishes what the Law could not.

This brings me to my personal journey of experiencing God’s love.  Something that I’ve always struggled with as a Christian is truly believing God loves me.  This, I’ve recently come to realize, is actually a belief in no God at all.  How can I believe a God would design this world so beautiful, so complex, so all-together magnificent, and would not have the power, will, or capacity to love me?  His breathtaking beauty explains His loving character as much as it does His righteous judgment.

Sometimes I just forget.  I forget the supernaturally loving and sacrificing nature of Jesus in these moments when I slip in and out of this Christian atheism.  I forget the man who healed the blind, made the lame man walk, spared the life of the woman in adultery, fed the 5,000, the 4,000, loved the children, touched the leper, defended the oppressed, befriended the tax-collector, resurrected the dead, wept for the suffering – it’s those times between His birth and death and resurrection that give power and credibility to those landmark events.  Oh, GRACE!  Not one of those who received those wonderful gifts while He was on earth deserved a drop of it.  Neither do we.  Nor do I.

He LOVES me so much!  Let me say that again.  He LOVES me so much!  Because of this love I’m found worthy, accepted, cherished, delighted in by my Creator.  He is Real.

About Michelle Blanco

Michelle Blanco was originally born in Puerto Rico, grew up in Kissimmee, FL, and now lives in Orlando, FL with her wonderful husband, JT and the cutest kids in the world - Joshua and Mercedes. Michelle has served as a missionary both overseas and domestic, but also was a singer/actor at a local theme park and loves talking theology, music, and movies. Oh, and she loves to act silly.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My experience with Les Miserables: facing my Christian atheism

  1. Jeanne' says:

    Michelle, how it does my heart good to see what you are doing with your life. It comes as no surprise, really; you always stood solidly for your faith when I taught you. I knew the Lord would use you in mighty ways and I am delighted to be able to peek in your “window” and see what He is doing through your willing heart. I have also struggled with feeling worthy etc so great message. Lord’s richest blessing to you and your precious family.

    Jeanne’

  2. Sandy says:

    Oh Michelle, so beautifully put! I too saw the movie (and saw the older version) and am amazed and humbled at the picture of God’s grace portrayed. Thanks for sharing!

  3. annette says:

    Perfect!!!

  4. Lizbeth Viera says:

    brougth me to tears.

  5. CherylT says:

    Michelle, Thank you, again, for sharing your thoughts. I am grateful for your stories, and the way they always speak to me. I have not seen the movie yet, but I am sure now having your take on it, it will have so much more meaning. God has gifted you with many talents, and a talent to write is one of them.

  6. teresarose says:

    I’m so glad you had a similar reaction to Les Mis. I listen to Jean’s soliloquy over and over again because his transformation and turning to God is so beautiful!

  7. Lorraine (Lori) says:

    Michelle, I loved this post. Les Mis is my favorite and the story moves me so. I have seen it so many times and cannot watch without tears. God is so amazing.

    ps. I was just at a birthday party with Lizbeth. Our son’s are in each others class. I am a new fan 🙂

  8. Thank you so much, Lori!

Leave a Reply

